Moving in!

D day arrived. We weren’t really that well packed ( my mistake – bit too laid back. After all, we were only moving down the road.). Boxes were spewing their contents and miscellaneous items made friends from other rooms: the deodorant spoke with the gardening gloves, the kid’s toys cosier up with the baking utensils. But we got there. Friday night and we ate takeaways from our neighbouring Thai restaurant … And Ian went to bed nursing a very sore throat and head. I stayed up, lurking in my kitchen and vainly trying to clear a space so I could see the full glory of the beautiful bench.

20130716-222255.jpg
At some late hour, while the house was sleeping, I finally cleared the bench. I love my kitchen, my sandy beach bench top, and even if, in this busy family, this is the only time I see it clear – then I will relish this moment !

20130716-222740.jpg
Ian has got progressively worse over the last few days and is now in the throes of a full blown chest cold with sinus infections. His HUGE work over the last 9 weeks has made us a beautiful home but his poor body must be exhausted. We still have some way to go. The floors all need work an are currently keeping us cold. We need walls, wardrobes and doors, plus some more deconstruction in the hallway.
The council visited today for a site visit and do in 20 days, we expect to get the permit to remove the front wall and bring the gorgeous views of ocean and island into our cottage.
I suspect, when ally’s said and done, there’ll be one amazing party here to celebrate Ian’s skill, tenacity and foresight. On the other hand, I’m still small minded enough to be angsting about the electrics for my oven, and the serious lack of wardrobe space !!!!

Leave a comment